Questions, not answers?

After our first full day lecture of the Psychology of Creativity and Innovation (part of the Masters in Innovation, Creativity and Leadership) I went home frustrated. I had arrived that morning thinking that it would be a day filled with answers about how to make people more creative. But at the end of the day I had more questions than I started with.

Don’t get me wrong, I learned a lot over the 3 days of lectures. I gained a whole new understanding and appreciation for the people side of innovation, something which I fear often gets overlooked when organisations set out to innovate.

On the other hand, every new bit of understanding, every a-ha moment, raised more questions. Bit by bit it dawned on me that this was exactly what it should be doing. Twitter co-founder Biz Stone recently got quoted saying: “The day we decide we’ve figured it all out and that we know everything is the day we’ve closed the door to a lot of wonderful opportunities.” (Business Insider Blog) To open doors it’s good to have more questions than answers. Isn’t it?

 

Author: Kristine Pitts

About Centre for Creativity in Professional Practice
The Centre for Creativity in Professional Practice is an interdisciplinary research centre in the Cass Business School, City University London. http://www.cass.city.ac.uk/research-and-faculty/centres/creativity

2 Responses to Questions, not answers?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Questions, not answers? « Centre for Creativity@City's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. For 40 years software leaders have obstructed improvement in language for expressing software and other technical knowledge simply. I have reason to see such improvement as having large potential for creativity. Removing worthless clutter frees the imagination. An early effort helped me see a see a simple way to visualize electromagnetic fields. That has encouraged me to persist in working on better language. Another result has been finding what is probably an enduring optimum structure for easily arranged pieces of information. At present, students everywhere are taught how to arrange pieces of information by teachers who are unaware of any good design for easily-arranged pieces of information. These issues are discussed in the first 5 papers on my web site.

